Written by: Prashasti Shandilya

Edited by: Akriti Anand


The state of Himachal Pradesh witnessed Vidhan Sabha elections on 9th November’17 in which the candidates fought for 68 Legislative assembly seats. As recorded by the election commision, 74% of the voters casted their vote this time. Raja Virbhadra Singh has completed his fourth term as Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh and became the one with the longest term as the Chief Minister of the State.

Virbhadra Singh
Virbhadra Singh riding a camel in celebration mood.

The Congress party has been losing its power in various states like Delhi, Maharashtra and Uttarakhand which makes it important for the party to save its fort. BJP on the other hand, have assured their win by a large margin, keeping in consideration their campaigning efforts which they believe will help them retain their spot in the assembly back. Following the scenario, BJP’s media department head, Anil Baluni tweeted,

However, going by the history, it is predicted that the BJP’s elected nominee and former Chief Minister of Himachal, Prem Singh Dhumal can be seen as the next Chief Minister.

A cut throat competition.

Virbhadra Singh is claiming that his party is going to be in the power supported by a large number. Vikram Aditya Singh, Virbhadra Singh’s youngest son has opted for the candidature from Shimla Rural Constituency which earlier had been under Virbhadra Singh. But this year, he has shifted himself to the Arki assembly seats in the Solan district, leaving Shimla for his son. The latter is considered as a potential successor to the 83 year old Virbhadra Singh, subtly referring to the dynastic politics.


Both the parties are facing a cut-throat competition. 19th December’17 marks the fateful day when both the Gujrat and the Himachal Pradesh’s election results will be announced like the sound of a conch for the 2019 general elections and both the results will decide the strategy for the next Lok Sabha elections.